burnm3w1thf1r3

First Home Audio System, Need Help And A List!

3 posts in this topic

So I'm pretty new to the home audio topic but I do know some basics. I am looking to get some wireless surround sound speakers for the TV in our living room but also want to get wireless/bluetooth outdoor speakers too. To add slightly more complexity I was hoping to be able to bluetooth/dock an iPod/computer/cd player into the whole system. So to explain this in a map style...

iPod/cd player/computer ---                
                                          |
                         TV --- receiver --- living room speakers

|

--------------Out door speakers

I would assume a receiving is needed almost as a junction point to output to the speakers from various points (ipod, cd player, computer, tv, et) which would also regulate which speakers are getting outputted to (don't always want to output to outdoor speakers).

Any suggestions or help or confirmation if this works this way? Anything?? Also names of each piece so I can find them on various sites/stores. Thank you!!!

So you need the speakers to be wireless?  That is the hard/expensive part.  If you can get wiring outside, it is almost worth the hassle.  What are you willing to spend.  A reliable wireless audio connection is going to cost you regardless.  Bluetooth is not a reliable means of transporting media, unless its less than 10 feet.  

Here is a recent thread with someone looking for something similar.

http://www.homeaudioforum.net/topic/743-wireless-speaker-dilema-advice-needed/

The problem with "wireless" is it is great when it works. It's when you find out it won't work that sucks. Bluetooth speakers notoriously sound bad compared to most affordable "passive" speakers requiring a separate amplifier to do the job.